• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Members who are regular contributors and have posted more than 25 times, will see no adverts.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

Squid fishing off pier - complete beginner

beginnerfisher2024

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Lure
New here hello everybody!

I did some fishing last year in cyprus which was very enjoyable... I did request to 'learn how to fish' but I was chucked a rod and it was all set up for me. So I dont know the 1st thing about how to setup a rod etc. I guess most people were taught by dad/ grandad etc.

I want to buy a boat next year and do squid fishing etc but for now I thought why not fish of the pier. I have a couple within 10 minutes of me.

Just watching some youtube vids to try and get some basics but I will need to buy a rod and reel etc.

Can anybody recommens some gear? Budget wise I prefer to buy the best I can not the cheapest so if its well known to be top stuff thats what I want...

Really appreciate any help guys.

Mostly want to catch squid to clean/cook on the beech :P

:cool:

Welcome to the Madhouse matey!

Squid is something I don't target, and eating them certainly doesn't appeal to me! Good bait for other fish though!

With only limited experience, I would suggest that since your object is to safely crane the squid up and over the rail, squid not being a species to give much in terms of 'sport', a robust but light 8Ft rod such as a boat rod could be sourced for not a lot of money. A decent rechargeable light is a better investment. Comments welcome.

It's a welcome from me as well (y)

cheers guys!

Ive been watching videos the last 23 hours ha! some good boys out there on youtube.

Im wondering if I will do any good off the sea-wall rather than the peir then im not limitied to opening times and the charge everytime.