• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Members who are regular contributors and have posted more than 25 times, will see no adverts.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

Shock leader question

bozzie

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Shore
Hi
Newbie here,
My question is, when I attach the shock leader to my main line does that then mean rigs, weights etc are then attached to the thicker shock leader ?
Cheers
Bozzie

Hi
Newbie here,
My question is, when I attach the shock leader to my main line does that then mean rigs, weights etc are then attached to the thicker shock leader ?
Cheers
Bozzie
I put a fast link on the end of the leader and the same with my rigs. You can then attach and change rigs easily.

Welcone to the forum,yes it does,I use the same sort of set up as concrete does ,it makes it easier & highly recommended it.

OK thanks, I've been told that braid is better than mono, also what breaking strain braid would be used for general beachcasting for bass, cod, whiting etc probably using 3-4 oz weights.
Cheers
Bozzie

OK thanks, I've been told that braid is better than mono, also what breaking strain braid would be used for general beachcasting for bass, cod, whiting etc probably using 3-4 oz weights.
Cheers
Bozzie
Braid is great, but can be difficult to handle while casting, if having doubts stick to mono if using a multiplier,

Cheers
Bozzie
As a relative newcomer, I would stick with mono for starters.
Whatever you decide to use, you will need a shockleader of about 50Lbs. With Braid, you could go to 50-60Lbs straight through and then no shockleader required.