• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Members who are regular contributors and have posted more than 25 times, will see no adverts.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

I'm new to lure fishing, is it very seasonal?

AndyA

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Lure
Hi all, I recently bought myself a lure fishing rod and reel, along with a few metal and plastic lures. I took the fishing rod up to Argyll last week, on our one week holiday and I had some fun catching a couple of Mackerel and a small Codling from the pier at Tighnabruaich. I really enjoyed the lure fishing and I particularly like the fact that I didn't need to lug around lots of gear with me, just the rod and reel and a bag with some bits and pieces.

We're back home from our week off now and a couple of days ago, we took our Labrador over to Fraisthorpe beach for the afternoon. I still had my rod in the car, so I tried my hand at lure fishing off the beach. The water was shallow, it was windy and I don't own a pair of waders. Not a great combination for success, but I enjoyed trying to get a lure out.

Since returning home I've watched a lot of lure fishing videos on YouTube, many of them seem to be from the South of the UK. I'm near York so the Yorkshire coast would be my nearest place to fish, but just how seasonal is lure fishing around here? Can I hope to catch fish at this time of the year.

Thanks very much.

I know nothing about the Yorkshire coast but I would hope to catch something around here, mid Wales, on either lures or feathers at this time of year. Well worth a shot. Best policy always is to just go fishing and find out for yourself imo.

Welcome to the Madhouse Andy! 👍👍